Leading our City

The City of Sydney is represented by a Lord Mayor and 9 Councillors who are elected for a 4 year term. The Deputy Lord Mayor is elected by the Councillors each year. All Councillors represent the entire local area as the City is not divided into wards.

Lord Mayor Clover Moore

Clover Moore is Lord Mayor of Sydney, currently serving her third term. She is the first popularly elected woman to lead the City of Sydney and previously served on the City and South Sydney councils.

Full profile: Lord Mayor Clover Moore

Deputy Lord Mayor the late Councillor Robyn Kemmis

The untimely passing of Deputy Lord Mayor Robyn Kemmis at the end of December 2015 is an enormous loss for the City of Sydney and our communities. A Glebe resident for over 35 years, Robyn was a City Councillor for eight years, from March 2004 to September 2008 and again since September 2012. She had been Deputy Lord Mayor since September 2012 and was also Deputy Chair of Council’s Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee.

Full profile: Deputy Lord Mayor the late Councillor Robyn Kemmis

Councillor Irene Doutney

Councillor Irene Doutney (B.A. History) has served on Council since 2008. Her background is in history, theatre and the arts. She also worked in NSW Parliament with Sylvia Hale MLC and David Shoebridge MLC.

Full profile: Councillor Irene Doutney

Councillor Christine Forster

Councillor Christine Forster was elected to the City of Sydney Council in September 2012. Prior to that she had a long history of involvement in her local community, participating in a wide range of volunteer and charity work since the early 1990s.

Full profile: Councillor Christine Forster

Councillor Jenny Green

Councillor Jenny Green (B.A. Modern Asian Studies, Grad. Dip. TESOL, Master of Adult Education and Graduate, Australian Institute of Company Directors) is the Academic Director of the National Judicial College of Australia.

Full profile: Councillor Jenny Green

Councillor Robert Kok

Councillor Robert Kok is a practising lawyer and currently the deputy chair of the Major Development Assessment Sub-Committee and a member of the Central Sydney Planning Committee.

Full profile: Councillor Robert Kok

Councillor Edward Mandla

Councillor Edward Mandla’s career spans three decades in business intertwined with making voluntary contributions to the broader community.

Full profile: Councillor Edward Mandla

Councillor John Mant

One of Australia's leading experts on planning systems and local government management, John's expertise spans the fields of planning law, housing policy, development control, organisation design and development, and urban management.

Full profile: Councillor John Mant

Councillor Linda Scott

First elected in 2012, Councillor Linda Scott is a researcher at Sydney University and a Director of Local Government NSW. Linda is committed to a fun, fair, affordable, safe and sustainable City for the future. She is particularly interested in economic development, housing affordability, action on climate change, and the arts, including live music.

Full profile: Councillor Linda Scott

Councillor Angela Vithoulkas

For over 25 years Councillor Angela Vithoulkas has forged a successful career in public and corporate life as an award winning business owner, radio broadcaster, media commentator and Independent Councillor for the City of Sydney. Councillor Vithoulkas is Deputy Chair of the Economic Development and Business Sub-Committee.

Full profile: Councillor Angela Vithoulkas