Waterloo Library

Waterloo Library

City of Sydney Library
temporary closure

City of Sydney Library branches will be closed on Thursday 8 October until 1pm for an all staff meeting. All branches will re-open to the public at 1pm.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Return chutes are available at the following library branches:

  • Glebe
  • Green Square
  • Haymarket
  • Newtown
  • Surry Hills
  • Ultimo
  • Waterloo
  • Customs House (8am-midnight)
  • Kings Cross (9am-5pm)
  • Town Hall Library Express (8am-6pm)

Serving Waterloo and Alexandria

The Waterloo Library is located in the Waterloo Town Hall, where it first opened in 1972. It is home to the network's Koori Collection.

To become a member, complete an online application or fill in a form when you next visit. It is free to join if you are a NSW resident.

Opening hours

  • Monday to Thursday: 10am to 6pm
  • Friday: 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday: 11am to 4pm
  • Sunday: Closed


As well as its constantly changing collection of books, CDs and DVDs, Waterloo Library offers locals:

  • a dedicated Koori collection
  • free wireless internet
  • public access computer
  • scanning, printing and photocopying facilities
  • a wide collection of newspapers and magazines
  • weekly rhyme and storytimes 
  • dedicated local history collection. 

Loans, renewals and returns

Members can borrow up to 30 items for 3 weeks. Renewals are available online (with your library card number) or you can send an email to libraries@cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au. You can also telephone or drop in to the branch.

The after-hours return chute is on Kellick Street. 


Waterloo Library
Waterloo Town Hall
770 Elizabeth Street
Waterloo NSW 2017

02 9288 5688

Last updated: Wednesday, 30 September 2015