Argyle Street improvements

Argyle Street improvements

Nita McCrae Park 

The new public park in Millers Point has been named in honour of Nita McCrae (1925–1995), a local resident and founding member of The Rocks Resident Action Group.

Nita McCrae Park was officially opened on Saturday 28 November 2017.

Nita McCrae campaigned against the state government's plans to relocate residents and redevelop The Rocks in the 1970s. She enlisted the assistance of the Builders' Labourers' Federation to impose a green ban on the precinct and bring works to a halt. 

Council endorsed the name of the new pocket park at its meeting in September 2017.

Located in front of Abraham Mott Hall and Harry Jensen Community Centre, the park is on the site of the former bus turnaround area and tram terminus.

The forecourts of both community facilities have been integrated into the park unifying their entrances with the green space.

A new playground for small children within the grounds of Abraham Mott Hall creates a play space for local children that is open to the public.

The park improves the setting and reinforces the green landscape character of Argyle Street.

Street improvement works

Argyle Street, Millers Point is the main connection between Circular Quay and the new Headland Park at Barangaroo. The harbour village north study and community consultation identified the need to improve access for people walking along the route and an upgrade of the playground at the forecourt of Abraham Mott Community Hall.

The former bus turnaround area has been reclaimed with a new public park, community playground and a direct footpath to the community facilities.

The street improvements include:

  • regraded footpath to improve access for people walking 
  • new street trees and LED lighting
  • kerb extensions to Lower Fort Street to reduce crossing distances.

We consulted the community about the proposed improvements in 2013 and the feedback we received was included in the design. Council endorsed the concept design plans in March 2014. The site is owned by the State Transit Authority but is now maintained by the City under a lease agreement. 

Construction started in March 2016 and was completed in September 2017.

Last updated: Tuesday, 31 October 2017