About Sydney

About Sydney

Around about Sydney

Find out more about getting around Sydney

Getting around

Australia's premier city

The City of Sydney local area covers approximately 26.15 square kilometres, within the Sydney metropolitan region. Over the past decade the City has become the largest and fastest growing local government area in all of NSW.

Global Sydney

As Australia’s leading global city and the gateway to Asia, Sydney is the destination of choice for international corporations, business leaders, tourists and students.

Sister cities

Sydney has 6 sister cities around the world that share significant historical, cultural, social or geographic similarities with Sydney.

Tourist information

What you need to know if you're a visitor in Sydney – including accessibility and time zone information to tipping and public toilets.

Weather and climate

Find out about the weather in Sydney now and our seasonal average temperature ranges.

Sydney maps

Our most popularly accessed and useful maps, along with their associated pages and sites.

You've gotta love this city

Our Tales of the City series takes you behind the scenes at the City of Sydney while Sydney People and Sydney Local highlights our people and places.