Neighbourhood parking policy

Parking policy changes

The City of Sydney's neighbourhood parking policy was adopted in May 2014 and changes were introduced progressively from August 2014.

What are the main changes to the policy?

  • Reduced 32 parking permit areas to 16.
  • Introduced daily visitor permits across all neighbourhoods (replacing yearly visitor permits where they currently exist).
  • Introduced business parking permits in all areas (with tighter eligibility criteria).
  • New parking areas are zoned A or B. Households in zone A (Kings Cross, Potts Point, Elizabeth Bay) are eligible for fewer resident and visitor permits than households in zone B areas.

What areas are affected?

All parking areas across the City except the city centre (CBD) and Haymarket come under the neighbourhood parking policy.

What is happening to my parking area?

As of mid-2015, the majority of the changes introduced by the neighbourhood parking policy had been completed. Existing visitor permits in Ultimo (area 14), Millers Point (area 16), Pyrmont (area 20) and Glebe (area G) will be phased out after May 2016 and replaced with the new scheme.

If you have more questions, download our FAQ or review the page that relates to your parking permit.

Last updated: Tuesday, 16 July 2019