Lord Mayor and councillors

The City of Sydney is represented by the Lord Mayor and 9 councillors who are elected until the next ordinary election in September 2024.

Lord Mayor and councillors stand in front of a heritage columned Sydney Town Hall building. Tree in the background.

The City of Sydney and all other councils in NSW operate within a legislative framework determined by the state government.

Our councillors are elected for a 4-year term by residents and non-residents. However, due to the 2020 election being postponed the current Council will serve for 2 years and 9 months.

The Lord Mayor is popularly elected. The Deputy Lord Mayor is elected by the councillors each year. All councillors represent the entire area as the City of Sydney is not divided into wards.

Councillors make decisions on all key matters at Council and Committee meetings. Members of the public can address committee meetings and may also attend Council meetings.

We consult our communities regularly to seek the opinions of residents, business owners and other interested parties to ensure they play a role in the decision-making process.