Design competition: Green Square Library and Plaza

Architect's render of Green Square Library and Plaza

In 2012 we invited Australian and international architects to submit designs for a new library and plaza for the Green Square town centre.

Our competition attracted over 160 entries from around the world. Architects and designers were inspired by the chance to shape a new town centre in Sydney, as well as the idea that libraries are increasingly becoming our 'urban living rooms' – places for exploration, creativity and connection.

The 5 shortlisted architects were chosen by the jury to submit more detailed designs.

Download the jury's report below - and check out the podcasts from our Design Excellence forum focusing on the library competition.

The winning design

The Stewart Hollenstein design was the winning entry in our international design competition. It redefines the traditional idea of a library, fusing a range of innovative buildings with the outdoor plaza to create multiple sites for play, work and rest. Some of the buildings are below ground while bookshelves sit outdoors in the plaza. The design includes an amphitheatre, a storytelling garden, water play zone and wide open spaces for festivals.

The competition jury

John Denton, Chair
Australia (Vic)

Director of international award-winning architecture, urban design and interior design practice Denton Corker Marshall (DCM); Life Fellow of Royal Australian Institute of Architects; RAIA gold medallist; former Victoria state government architect; Adjunct Professor, Monash University Faculty of Art and Design.

Glenn Murcutt AO, Architect/Academic
Australia (NSW)

Multiple award-winning Australian architect; 2002 Pritzker Prize winner; Life Fellow of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects; RAIA gold medallist; AIA gold medallist; Professor, University of New South Wales Faculty of Built Environment and leader of annual Glenn Murcutt international master class.

George Hargreaves, Designer/Landscape Architect

Design director of international award-winning landscape architecture and planning practice Hargreaves Associates; Fellow of American Society of Landscape Architects; former chair of Harvard University Department of Landscape Architecture.

Rachel Neeson, Architect
Australia (NSW)

Multiple award-winning Australian architect, currently working on a number of projects with the City of Sydney local government area; 1996 University of Sydney University Medal; exhibited at 2006 and 2008 Venice Biennale; Adjunct Professor, University of Sydney.

Sharan Harvey, Librarian
Australia (Qld)

Manager of Brisbane City Council Library Services; leader in library services, performance and technology; Queensland Local Government Association, 2010 Recognition for Services to Local Government.

Stuart McCreery, Buildability expert
Australia (NSW)

Structural engineer with Evans & Peck, with extensive experience in building, infrastructure and sustainability projects; member, Australian Institution of Engineers; board member, Belvoir Street Theatre, Sydney.