What’s on in Green Square

Library play group

Hendrik Kolenberg & Evan Salmon at MAY SPACE

Evan Salmon and Hendrik Kolenberg share an interest in making paintings of their suburban environment.

May Space
409b George Street, Waterloo

Tuesdays to Saturdays, 10am to 5pm
Sundays, 12pm to 4pm
Wednesday 29 January to Sunday 16 February

Book now

Artist talk: Catherine O'Donnell

Hear Catherine O'Donnell talk about her practice as part of Art Month Sydney

Saturday 7 March from 3pm to 4pm

Book now

Tennis Coaching at Alexandria Park

Classes for children and youth

Alexandria Park
Buckland Street, Alexandria

Wednesdays, 4:30pm to 6pm
Saturdays, 8am to 6pm
Wednesday 5 February to Wednesday 8 April

Book now

Richard Lewer: As I stepped out into the bright sun light

Sullivan+Strumpf Sydney presents Richard Lewer's new solo show responding to bushfire destruction and feelings of loss

799 Elizabeth St, Zetland

Every day, 10am to 5pm
Friday 13 March to Saturday 28 March

Except Sunday 15 March,
Monday 16 March,
Sunday 22 March and
Monday 23 March

Book now

Graziela Guardino at May Space

Finite infinity

Tuesdays to Saturdays, 10am to 5pm
Sundays, 12pm to 4pm
Wednesday 11 March to Sunday 29 March

Book now

Karen Black: It’s Not Real

Sullivan+Strumpf Sydney present new works by Australian artist Karen Black exploring female driven narratives

799 Elizabeth St, Zetland

Every day, 10am to 5pm
Friday 13 March to Saturday 28 March

Except Sunday 15 March,
Monday 16 March,
Sunday 22 March and
Monday 23 March

Book now

Bottomless brunch at Luke's Kitchen

Bring in the weekend with a bang at Luke's Kitchen!

8 Danks St, Waterloo

Weekends, 9am to 11am
Saturday 5 October 2019 to Sunday 27 December

Book now

Make a Zine with The Rizzeria

Print your very own indie zine

Saturday 28 March from 1pm to 4pm

Book now

Flower workshop: beginners

Master the art of a flower arrangement with gorgeous seasonal blooms.

1/574 Botany Rd, Alexandria

Saturday 16 June 2018 from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 23 November 2019 from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 18 January from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 25 January from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 8 February from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 22 February from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 21 March from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 28 March from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 18 April from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 25 April from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 9 May from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 9 May from 3pm to 5pm
Saturday 20 June from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 27 June from 11am to 1pm

Book now

Walkie talkie Zetland: Art walking tour

Get up close and personal in East Sydney and Green Square/Waterloo on your very art own tour

799 Elizabeth St, Zetland

Saturday 28 March from 11am to 1pm

Book now

Balance bike clinics

Suitable for children aged 3 to 8 years.

Sydney Park Cycling Centre
410-416 Sydney Park Road, Alexandria

Saturdays, 9am to 11am
Saturday 20 July 2019 to Saturday 4 July

Tennis for children and youth in Rosebery

After-school and weekend junior tennis classes

Turruwul Park, 115 Rothschild Ave, Rosebery

Fridays, 4pm to 6pm
Saturdays, 8am to 12pm
Friday 7 February to Saturday 4 April

Book now

Movies in the Park

Hosted by Grace City Church

Joynton Park
Victoria Park Parade, Zetland

Saturday 7 March from 5:30pm to 9:30pm
Saturday 28 March from 5:30pm to 9:30pm

Art Somewhere Creative Hangouts

Creative hangouts for anyone wanting to live more creatively

Saturday 14 March from 11am to 2pm
Saturday 28 March from 11am to 2pm
Saturday 11 April from 11am to 2pm
Saturday 9 May from 11am to 2pm
Saturday 23 May from 11am to 2pm
Saturday 6 June from 11am to 2pm
Saturday 20 June from 11am to 2pm

Book now

Karaoke Saturdays Rosebery Hotel early bird show

4 hour show with 25,000 songs to sing for free

569 Botany Rd, Rosebery

Saturday 14 March from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 21 March from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Sunday 22 March from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 28 March from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 4 April from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 11 April from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 18 April from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 25 April from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 2 May from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 9 May from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 16 May from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 23 May from 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Saturday 30 May from 6:30pm to 10:30pm

Men's and mixed Sunday futsal competitions

Indoor social futsal competitions at Perry Park Recreation Centre

Sundays, 2pm to 6pm
Sunday 15 March to Sunday 31 May

Book now

Merrick Belyea at MAY SPACE

Anthropocene Landscapes

Wednesdays, 10am to 5pm
Sundays, 12pm to 4pm
Wednesday 11 March to Sunday 29 March

Book now

Alexandria Sunday Funday

Feast on great food and craft brews, enjoy stalls, great music and entertainment for young and old

Sunday 29 March from 11am to 3pm

Youth basketball clinic & games

Come over and have some fun with your friends and make new ones

Mondays, 2pm to 6pm
Monday 24 February to Monday 30 March

Book now

Computer, tablet and mobile phone tech support

IT support for computer, tablets and mobile phones

Cliff Noble Community Centre
Corner Renwick and Suttor Streets, Alexandria

Mondays, 10am to 12pm
Monday 24 February to Monday 14 December

Green Square Yoga

An ancient practice with a modern urban flavour

46 Hansard St, Zetland

Mondays and Fridays, 6pm to 7pm
Tuesdays, Wednesdays, 7pm to 8pm
Thursdays, 6:15am to 7:15am
Tuesday 4 February to Thursday 31 December

Book now

Free Tune ups: Short Street Reserve

We’re out and about on shared paths and cycleways in inner Sydney twice a week

Tuesday 31 March from 4:30pm to 6pm
Tuesday 21 April from 4pm to 5:30pm

Community lunch, Alexandria

Every Tuesday at 12pm we get together for a healthy lunch at a cheap price

Tuesdays, 12pm to 1pm
Tuesday 25 February to Tuesday 15 December

Gentle exercise in Alexandria

Gentle exercise for older adults in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere

Cliff Noble Community Centre
Corner Renwick and Suttor Streets, Alexandria

Tuesdays, 11am to 12pm
Tuesday 25 February to Tuesday 15 December

Zumba Gold for older adults

Simple dance exercises to socialise and stay young

Cliff Noble Community Centre
Corner Renwick and Suttor Streets, Alexandria

Wednesdays, 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Wednesday 26 February to Wednesday 16 December

Casual drop-in futsal

Friendly indoor futsal on a Wednesday night at Perry Park Recreation Centre

Wednesdays, 8:30pm to 10:30pm
Wednesday 19 February to Wednesday 27 May

Short Film Hackathon

Learn how to capture stories through short films, straight from your phone.

Joynton Avenue Creative Centre
146-158 Joynton Avenue, Zetland

Wednesday 1 April from 7pm to 9pm
Saturday 4 April from 10am to 5pm
Sunday 5 April from 10am to 5pm

Book now

Healthy cooking for young people

Learn how to make meals and desserts from scratch.

Wednesdays, 3pm to 6pm
Wednesday 19 February to Wednesday 8 April

Book now

Creative writing class, Alexandria

Learn to create with words

Wednesdays, 10am to 12pm
Wednesday 26 February to Wednesday 9 December

Stepping On Program (逐步前行)

Free community-based falls prevention program for seniors (in Mandarin)

Green Square Library
355 Botany Road, Zetland

Wednesdays, 10am to 12pm
Wednesday 12 February to Wednesday 1 April

Men's and mixed Wednesday futsal competitions

Social indoor futsal competitions at Perry Park Recreation Centre

Wednesdays, 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Wednesday 11 March to Wednesday 27 May

Book now

Learn to make jewellery: Stage 1 beginner

You will be guided through a range of jewellery tools and techniques used for introductory silver jewellery making

Wednesdays, 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday 25 March to Wednesday 13 May

Wednesday 20 May from 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday 8 July from 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday 2 September from 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday 28 October from 6:30pm to 9:30pm

Book now

Create til late: An individual approach

This course will introduce and instruct you in traditional techniques, design and production jewellery manufacture.

Thursdays, 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Thursday 26 March to Thursday 14 May

Thursday 21 May from 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Thursday 9 July from 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Thursday 3 September from 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Thursday 29 October from 6:30pm to 9:30pm

Book now

Women's and mixed Thursday evening indoor netball

New, fun and exciting competitions in Alexandria

Perry Park Recreation Centre
1B Maddox Street, Alexandria

Thursdays, 6:30pm to 10:30pm
Thursday 16 January to Thursday 2 April

Book now

Waterloo Community Outreach

A one-stop-shop for all your service needs

85 Wellington St, Waterloo

Thursday 13 February from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 20 February from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 27 February from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 5 March from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 12 March from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 19 March from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 26 March from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 2 April from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 9 April from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 16 April from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 23 April from 10am to 1pm
Thursday 30 April from 10am to 1pm

Learn-to-Play multi-sports classes for children

Fun classes for children to learn and improve in different sports

Perry Park Recreation Centre
1B Maddox Street, Alexandria

Thursdays, 5:15pm to 6:15pm
Thursday 30 January to Thursday 2 April

Book now

Mums, dads and bubs yoga

Get healthy while connecting with your bub

Cliff Noble Community Centre
Corner Renwick and Suttor Streets, Alexandria

Fridays, 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday 28 February to Friday 11 December

Chair yoga in Alexandria

A gentle way to improve strength, flexibility and mindfulness

Cliff Noble Community Centre
Corner Renwick and Suttor Streets, Alexandria

Fridays, 12:15pm to 1:15pm
Friday 21 February to Friday 11 December

Magic Class

Learn how to amaze and astonish your friends and family

Fridays, 2pm to 3:30pm
Friday 28 February to Friday 20 November

Cancelled: Grow fresh food fast

Youth Fest 2020 has been postponed until further notice.

Saturday 4 April from 10am to 11am
Saturday 4 April from 1pm to 2pm

Bike care and maintenance course

Come along and learn more about how to maintain your bike

Sydney Park Cycling Centre
410-416 Sydney Park Road, Alexandria

Saturday 4 April from 10am to 1pm
Saturday 18 April from 10am to 1pm
Saturday 2 May from 10am to 1pm
Saturday 16 May from 10am to 1pm

Book now

Cycling in the City: Rusty Riders course

Tailored for those with lower confidence and fitness levels

Sydney Park Cycling Centre
410-416 Sydney Park Road, Alexandria

Sunday 5 April from 9am to 10am
Sunday 3 May from 9am to 1pm
Sunday 7 June from 9am to 1pm

Book now

Free Tune ups: Crystal Street Waterloo

We’re out and about on shared paths and cycleways in inner Sydney twice a week

Crystal St, Waterloo

Tuesday 17 March from 4:30pm to 6pm
Tuesday 7 April from 4pm to 5:30pm

Free Tune-ups: Waterloo

We’re out and about on shared paths and cycleways in inner Sydney twice a week

Shared path, George Street
Intersection of McEvoy and George streets, Waterloo

Thursday 9 April from 7:30am to 9am

Terrarium indoor garden workshop

Learn how to bring some lush greenery indoors at this workshop for beginners

1/574 Botany Rd, Alexandria

Saturday 20 April 2019 from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 16 November 2019 from 11am to 1pm
Tuesday 11 February from 6pm to 8pm
Saturday 15 February from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 14 March from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 11 April from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 16 May from 11am to 1pm
Saturday 13 June from 11am to 1pm

Book now

Free Tune ups: Danks St Plaza

We’re out and about on shared paths and cycleways in inner Sydney twice a week

Tuesday 24 March from 4:30pm to 6pm
Tuesday 14 April from 4pm to 5:30pm

Intergenerational Project

Local kids visiting Cliff Noble Community Centre

Thursday 19 March from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 16 April from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 21 May from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 18 June from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 16 July from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 20 August from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 17 September from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 15 October from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 19 November from 10am to 10:30am
Thursday 17 December from 10am to 10:30am

Free Tune ups: Green Square Station

Thursday 19 March from 7:30am to 9am
Thursday 16 April from 7:30am to 9am

Cycling in the City course: Sydney Park

Get the skills and confidence to ride on Sydney streets

Sydney Park Cycling Centre
410-416 Sydney Park Road, Alexandria

Sunday 19 April from 9am to 1pm
Sunday 3 May from 9am to 1pm
Sunday 17 May from 9am to 1pm
Sunday 31 May from 9am to 1pm

Book now

Makers Play Lab April school holidays

Workshops for young makers to play, design, code and create in the April school hols

Monday 20 April from 9am to 3pm
Tuesday 21 April from 9am to 3pm
Wednesday 22 April from 9am to 3pm
Thursday 23 April from 9am to 3pm

Book now

Green Square Strata Network meetup

Owners, tenants and managers sharing ideas on strata living

100 Joynton Ave, Zetland

Tuesday 21 April from 6pm to 8:30pm

Book now

Card Making with The Rizzeria

Make beautiful handmade cards with The Rizzeria

Friday 24 April from 6pm to 9pm

Book now

Friday Social: Art Somewhere and beats

An evening edition of your fave creative hangout

Friday 24 April from 6pm to 9pm

Book now

Free Tune ups: East Village Gadigal Ave Green Square

We’re out and about on shared paths and cycleways in inner Sydney twice a week

Tuesday 28 April from 4pm to 5:30pm

Free Tune ups: East Village Gadigal Ave

We’re out and about on shared paths and cycleways in inner Sydney twice a week

East St, Greenwich

Tuesday 28 April from 4pm to 5:30pm

An Evening with Tracey Dimech

Hear from the medium and psychic at this immersive event

Euston Rd, Alexandria

Friday 15 May from 6pm to 9pm

Book now

Riso 101

Wondering what exactly Risograph printing is? Then this class is for you!

Saturday 23 May from 1pm to 4pm

Book now

E-waste drop-off day

Help keep e-waste out of landfill and recycle your unwanted goods for free

Saturday 30 May from 9am to 3pm

Sign up to the City of Sydney’s Green Square newsletter


Privacy notice

Our Green Square community newsletter is packed with local information every 2 months. It includes listings of big community events (and little local ones), school holiday activities, courses, theatre, art, local eating and shopping guides, development updates and much more.